It’s my testimony…

Please visit me at my main blog: Pollywog Creek

Blessed be the Lord God of Israel,

for he has visited and redeemed his people.
~

to give knowledge of salvation to his people

in the forgiveness of their sins,
because of the tender mercy of our God,
whereby the sunrise shall visit us from on high
to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death,
to guide our feet into the way of peace.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. In him was life, and the life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. ~ John 1:1-5

The true light, which enlightens everyone, was coming into the world.
He was in the world,
and the world was made through him,
yet the world did not know him.
He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him.
But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name,
he gave the right to become children of God,
who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh
nor of the will of man, but of God.
And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us,
and we have seen his glory,
glory as of the only Son from the Father,
full of grace and truth.
~ John 1:14
Your word is a lamp to my feet

and a light to my path.

~ Psalm 119:105

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life;
of whom shall I be afraid?

Psalm 27:1

While cleaning out old files yesterday – files that have been stored away for years – I was thrilled to find the outline of a talk I had given to a women’s group at least ten years ago. In that talk, I had applied the characteristics of light to ways God had revealed Himself to me.

You would have to know the stronghold fear held on my life – for decades – to understand how precious the truth of Psalm 27 is to me. Maybe as I have time over the summer I’ll elaborate, but for now I just want to share the outline:

Light shows us the way out of darkness…
“I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness.” John 12:46

Light shows us the way in darkness…
“Rejoice not over me, O my enemy;
when I fall, I shall rise;
when I sit in darkness,
the Lord will be a light to me.”
Micah 7:8

Light reveals what is hiding in the darkness…
“He uncovers the deeps out of darkness
and brings deep darkness to light.” Job 12:22

“But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible” Ephesians 5:13

Light heals…
“He heals the brokenhearted
and binds up their wounds.”
Psalm 147:3

Light shines through “cracks” and weaknesses…
“For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.” II Corinthians 4:5-6

Light attracts…
“Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain.” Philippians 2:14-16

Light reflects…
“Arise, shine, for your light has come,
and the glory of the Lord has risen upon you.
For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
and thick darkness the peoples;
but the Lord will arise upon you,
and his glory will be seen upon you.”
Isaiah 60:1-2

“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.” I Peter 2:9

New photos, Archived words.

12 Responses to “It’s my testimony…”

  1. Pat, you are truly a preacher in pictures and inspirational thoughts you post. Awesome is all I can say about your photography. I lived in Labelle in First Grade. My dad was a wildlife officer there and I spent many days on the banks of Fisheaating Creek in Palmdale and also the waters in and around Labelle. Until my brother was born 7 yrs later, I was daddy's "boy" and he took me fishing, hunting, and gave me a love for the great outdoors and wilderness living. I envy you being able to live there where I once lived

  2. Please do follow this topic, Pat – it is so needed, especially now.

  3. Thank-you for this uplifting post.May this day be filled with the light of God. Blessings,Ruth

  4. Yes, like the others… this message is so needed. Thank You Father for using Pat and the creation artwork you put before her so she can share it with us. In Jesus' name, amen.

  5. What a testimony, dear one. You've no idea how needed this is.

  6. That is very beautiful, my friend. Blessings ~

  7. Thank you, Rachel. I didn't realize you'd lived here, too. But Tally is gorgeous, too. GORGEOUS! Thank you for the encouragement, Betsy. I will do just that. Ruth, thank you. It was! May you be blessed, as well.Kimberly, thank you for that prayer. It is ALL God. Truly.Allie, you are a sweetie. =)Thank you, Cathy. Blessings to you, too!

  8. The sun slanting through those trees just takes my breath away. Gorgeous. Thank you for letting us see the beauty of your world through your exquisite lens.Love, Jeanne

  9. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement and your prayer for us as we faith-walk through a tough time in our lives. It means so much to me. And I just love how only God could connect 2 of His children through the internet and knit their hearts together!! I just love that about Him.I do not know why my blog won't accept any comments. I need to get my computer guy to look at it for me. Thanks for visiting faithfully. I just love to read and look at your posts. You have such a gift for capturing God's creation and for illustrating His truth with it! Blessings. I only wish we lived close. I think we would spend many days strolling PC with cameras in hand, discussing the greatness of our God and His Word!! In lieu of that, I sure enjoy your blog!Thanks again for your prayerful support. We are pressing on. Like Paul, I consider all things to be loss for the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord!

  10. I love the way that our stories reveal the glorious nature of His heart! Thank you for sharing!Love you bunchies!-Tiffany

  11. Patricia,You found your way to The Ponderers! I am so glad!And then I wandered over here. . .and I am so thankful once again to be refreshed by your beautiful, graced-by-the-hand-of-God photography.What a ministry you have.

  12. What a blessing that you have captured God's beautiful design and shared with us! Thank you for refreshing me today.

Leave a Reply

