Sixty::Fifty-Five

Fall Webworm Caterpillar
Honestly. I shouldn’t like this photo. Every few years, fall webworms and tent caterpillars ruin any chance I might have of enjoying fall foliage by defoliating the sweetgum trees before the trees can do so naturally. This past year, they were particularly annoying, often falling out of the trees (including the cypress trees around the pond) like snow. They crawled through cracks on the porch and “wormed” their way into everything.

But I do like the photo – the contrasting lines and colors and I even like the caterpillar’s spikey white hairs. Just wish they’d stay out of my sweetgum trees.

4 Responses to “Sixty::Fifty-Five”

  1. That is a neat picture.I thought at first it was a grass seed head. Blessings,Ruth

  2. He's quite a wild-looking fellow! I love him! But then I don't have any sweetgum trees.

  3. It is a great shot! I like the contrast of the rusty metal and the soft fuzzy caterpillar.

  4. Ruth – thanks!Allie – trust me. you would not love him if you had hundred more just like him. He just takes a cool picture! =)Robin – the contrasts are what I liked about this photo, too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

