Mighty to Save

The LORD your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing

~ Zephaniah 3:17
I have no intentions of belaboring what happened next. Truth is, I was in a season of making horrible choices – relationship and otherwise. Nearly every decision I made was influenced by an escalating fear of being alone, especially at night, and I did not always choose the best company.

I was a registered nurse for an oncologist during the day and a student in the nurse practitioner program (before it was post-graduate) at Florida State University at night. Only because my friend Jerri offered to drive me to and from class did I dare go out after dark. One evening after class, when Jerri dropped me off at my apartment, I was accosted by a man with whom I had severed a relationship some weeks earlier – a man who had apparently been hiding in the bushes near the entrance to my apartment, waiting for me to come home. I can only imagine his intentions. What he did not realize was that Jerri was still in the parking lot. She witnessed his attack on me and came to my rescue.

At Jerri’s insistence, she drove me directly to the police department where charges were filed. For reasons that I either never knew or quickly forgot, the date for court was cancelled. Anxious to put the incident behind me, I dropped the matter and never pursued it. I never will. I was not interested in stirring a hornet’s nest, and it was all I could do to sleep at night without cowering under my bed.

Fear is too gentle a word for the terror that battled for my mind. It was a paralyzing terror that propelled me as I raced through stop signs and red lights without stopping and imprisoned me behind triple-locked doors.

To say that I am alive today is to proclaim the providential hand of God on my life. To realize my victory over fear and terror bears witness to the mighty power of God to redeem, to justify, to heal, to make new. To save.

“Who, oh Lord, could save themselves
Their own soul to heal?
Our shame was deeper than the sea
Your grace is deeper still”

~ “You Alone Can Rescue” by Matt Redmanlisten
to be continued…

Previous Posts:1 – On Trial

8 Responses to “Mighty to Save”

  1. My heart reaches out to this post. I can so relate to this kind of terror. But, yes, because of the grace and mercy of God I overcame. HE alone can rescue. Amen! Praise the LORD!

  2. Praise the LORD that His salvation frees us, not only from the bondage of sin, but from the power of fear and terror.How awful to have to recount this in front of a judge and other jurors.

  3. Kimberly, I'm sorry to know that you relate to terror, but praise God for his grace and mercy. Robin, there's a bit of irony in my telling these stories here, because the favor God showed me was in keeping me from having to tell them in the courtroom. That will be the next post. =)

  4. I have no words to express my self,so here is a Hug for you. ((( Patricia ))) Blessings,Ruth

  5. It's funny, Pat, I've known that same terror without cause – I've never been attacked. But when I was first married, and hubby worked nights, I changed my own hours to stay up during the dark. All night, huddled in terror, with my German Shepherd and a gun. Yes, the Lord can deliver us from debilitating fear – and how I thank Him for that!

  6. Thank you, Ruth. I do love hugs!Allie, that's one of the reasons why I don't like Halloween and scary movies. I hate the thought of scaring children and planting seeds of fear into their little hearts and minds…without cause. ESPECIALLY little girls.

  7. Well Patricia, you are one brave woman and you are a tremendous inspiration to me and no doubt, countless others. I thank God for His mighty power that is on display in your life! Love and blessings to you! Christina

  8. Oh, that is just terrible, Patricia. Thank God we have victory over fear.Love you ~

Leave a Reply

