Squirrel training…

Clearly these are Pollywog Creek days to embrace – before sultry summer all too soon presses in – stifling and oppressive.

February days – when spring unfolds under a canopy of cerulean, and a palette of painted buntings hides in the tangle of brush and vine along the creek and flocks two-by-two to the feeders.
Days of leisure on the backyard swing with lattes, books, music and sunlight – as a pesky fox squirrel – not content with the peanuts I leave him – raids the bird feeders when I look away. Squirrel training is not my gift.
In a multitude of ways, these embraceable days are predictable – comforting and reassuring. Painted buntings arrive in winter and azalea blooms herald spring. Creation testifies – to the faithfulness of the One Who painted the bunting’s rainbow plumage and the tulip’s velvet petals.

“The heavens declare the glory of God,
and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.” ~ Psalm 19:1

6 Responses to “Squirrel training…”

  1. Fabulous post.The Buntings are exquisite,someday I hope to be able to see one myself,but for now I will enjoy the ones you post.Ah,the wonders of spring.Thanks for sharing this beauty and making me long for what is to come.Our God is awesome! Blessings,Ruth

  2. Lovely pics Pat – I can't even imagine spring right now, we're still in the icy grip of winter, grey and gloomy and cold. I thank God for my warm house and comfy bed every night!

  3. I'm sorry that you've had the flu. I hope you are feeling better with each passing day.The bunting pictures are so beautiful as are the others! I'm definitely ready for spring but we are months away yet. More snow coming our way too. At least I can enjoy spring from your lens!

  4. ah spring—I think it is interesting how the birds of a feather were in the same picture, is it always that way?

  5. How refreshing to get a glimpse of the coming spring. Your photos are beautiful! I've so enjoyed all of your posts and am glad I found you! Blessings to you.

  6. I love all of your photos as always. And I so wish I had these rainbow colored birds in Colorado Springs!

Leave a Reply

