Letter from Mimi’s Backyard::Week Four

“Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.” ~ Luke 12:32

To Mason, Gavin and Austin – Mimi’s little flock,

BIG hugs and kisses from Papa and Mimi. We love and miss you BIGGIE bunches.

Are you having a happy summer? I would love to know what things you like to do that make you happy? Do you like to swim and play with your toys and read books? Do you like to play ball outside? What about ice-cream cones and popsicles – do they make you happy, too?

I happen to know something that makes Gavin happy – singing his favorite song – “Old Macdonald had a farm…”, right Gavin? And it makes him even happier if we all sing it with him. Again and again and again. Do you have a favorite song to sing, too, Mason?

When I was outside walking this morning, I heard mockingbirds singing their favorite songs. Mockingbirds are very good at learning the songs of all the other birds and then singing them very loudly so that we will know how smart they are. I think they are just trying to get attention – like some little boys I know?

I also saw flycatchers, a red cardinal, and a great white heron searching for food around the pond while on my walk.

Here are pictures of the red cardinal, a grey mockingbird and the white heron. Can you point to the bird that is red? Grey? White? Can you also count the birds you see here?

It wouldn’t be summer on Pollywog Creek without insects. I don’t mind most insects as long as they stay are outside. I think they are interesting and fun to watch, don’t you?

Here are some insects I saw this week: a white hairy caterpillar, an orange dragonfly and a brown cicada with green and black wings. I also saw a lot of mosquitoes, but who wants a picture of a mosquito – not me!

We also had a couple of visitors this week…

Some of our neighbors chickens “flew the coop” and crossed the fence into our pasture. Another neighbor’s peacock hen decided she wanted to spend a week with us on our side of Pollywog Creek. They were all very good visitors and have now gone back home.

We’ve seen a couple of baby rabbits in the asparagus fun underneath our bedroom window this week, too. Auntie Em (Minna) tried to catch one of them, but even a baby rabbit can run faster than we can.

Unless that white heron I saw this morning caught the bullfrogs for her breakfast, there are still several bullfrogs living at the edge of our pond. I am also still trying to sneak up on one so I can take a really good picture for you, but they are as quick as a rabbit, and they jump into the pond before I can get very close.

One day I bet that all of you will be quick enough to catch a frog – when you are older and bigger and can safely explore around the pond here on Pollywog Creek.

(Click to enlarge the coloring page for printing – there are other frog coloring pages linked below under resources)

Papa and I can hear the bullfrogs from the house at night. Do you know what sound a bullfrog makes? You can watch this video if you’d like to listen to one…

Have you heard bullfrogs in your pond in Texas, Mason?

Do frogs walk or run? No….what do frogs do?

Of course – they jump. They hop just like rabbits do. What about you – can you hop, too? Aren’t you glad that you don’t have to hop every where you go? God didn’t make us to hop, did He?

There is a story in the Bible that talks about frogs and a king in Egypt who was very mean to God’s people. Ask your mom or dad or papa or mimi to read or tell you that story some time. Frogs were everywhere. Even in people’s houses. I wouldn’t want a frog in my house, would you? I’m glad that they stay outside with the rabbits and birds and insects where they belong.

I never know what God is going to show me when I go for a walk outside, but I always ask Him to show me something that I can tell you about and He always answers my prayers. God is so good to us. Don’t forget to say your prayers and until I write you again next week…

Don’t ever forget that Jesus loves you and so do Papa and Mimi…a bushel and a peck and a hug around the neck!

XOXOXO
Mimi

Resources for Further Study and Enrichment
All Things Bright And Beautiful, illustrated by Pauline Baynes
The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones, “God to the rescue!” p. 84-91
Pond & River – Eyewitness Books – “Frogs, toads, and newts“, p. 38-39
Bullfrog Coloring Page
Bullfrog Coloring Page (PDF)

Leave a Reply

