Uh-oh. It might be my fault…

“Grandparenting offers us a chance to help groom a generation for greatness.” ~ Dr. Tim and Darcy Kimmel, Extreme Grandparenting

Remember a couple of weekends ago – when the Hunter clan went to Lion Country Safari instead of the beach? Well, it seems that on that long ride through the safari part of the park Gavin was only interested in the birds.

According to Emily – who rode in the car with Nick, Kristin and Gavin while Casey, Jessi and Mason rode with us – they would point out something like the elephant to Gavin and he would say, “Whoa…….look at the bird!” Lions, giraffes, chimpanzees, rhinoceros, buffalo……same thing……”Whoa…….look at the bird!”

Here we were at the top of the giraffe feeding station, Nick was holding Gavin up to feed the giraffe a cracker, Mason and Nick were intently watching the giraffe who was less than six inches from Gavin’s face and Gavin was pointing at something in the distance – oblivious to the giraffe. Emily said, “He was probably pointing at a bird.”

After his nap (Gavin loves his naps and I love that he loves his naps, if you know what I mean), Gavin and I were sitting on the backyard swing this afternoon when I heard myself say, “Gavin, look at the bird.”

Gulp. Oh, no.

The gazillion times since Gavin was born that I’ve said to him, “Look at the bird” raced before me in a flash.

Gavin’s obsession with the birds at Lion Country Safari just might be my fault.

What a clear picture of the influence we grandmothers (and mommies and daddies and aunts and uncles) can have on the little ones God has entrusted to our nurture and care – and the need to be intentional about what we say and how often we say it.

“Look at what God has done for us.”

“God is so good.”

“God loves you so much.”

Psalm 92 has been a well-spring of encouragement for me lately – days before my “aha” moment this afternoon – particularly the verses I’m committing to memory…

The righteous flourish like the palm tree
and grow like a cedar in Lebanon.
They are planted in the house of the Lord;
they flourish in the courts of our God.
They still bear fruit in old age;
they are ever full of sap and green,
to declare that the Lord is upright;
he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.
(emphasis mine)
I don’t believe I qualify as “old age” yet, but even when I do, what joy there is in knowing that I can still be fruitful. According to the Psalms, it will be my charge to bear fruit with my words – declaring and proclaiming God’s goodness – His power and might – to this next generation of little ones who call me “mimi”.

“O God, from my youth you have taught me,
and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds.
So even to old age and gray hairs,
O God, do not forsake me,
until I proclaim your might to another generation,
your power to all those to come.”
Psalm 71:17-18
(emphasis mine)

Leave a Reply

