Saturday Photo Hunt – Hope…

A page from my journal – April 2008
From foggy sunrises to magnificent ocean sunsets, I have been gifted with an abundance of illustrations here on Pollywog Creek that inspire and encourage hope. As I pored over my photos from 2008, searching for the one that best captured hope, nothing spoke of hope louder to me than the photo of a page from my journal last spring.

In the middle of a journey that took me from painful knees to gallbladder polyps to “abnormal EKG” to stress test to “heart attack” and finally surgery, I had been graced with incredible peace. On the day I originally posted that photo, I wrote the following

I am having a gloriously wonderful day.

I have just delighted in being outside soaking up the sunlight for over two hours – stretched out on my swing with my Bible study, devotional and journal. It is a most amazingly beautiful spring day.

It is also very cool and breezy, and it was a bit of a struggle to keep the pages of my Bible and journal opened to the ones I wanted. As gusts of wind flipped the pages of my journal back to April 5th, it nearly took my breath away to read the entry I had made that day, two whole days before this “heart attack” drama of mine even began.

I wish that I could remember what I might have been thinking or feeling that inspired me to copy that particular verse for that day, but I can not. It was – undoubtedly – the Holy Spirit preparing my “heart” for the week to come.

My hope is built on nothing less

…and I’m hiding it in my heart.

A happy new year blessing to all my photohunt friends and a great big thanks to TNChick, for hosting the Saturday Photo Hunt every week. For “hope” photos from other Photo Hunt participants be sure to click on the Photo Hunter Banner or the Technorati PhotoHunt tag below. The theme for next week’s Photo Hunt is: aftermath. (I’m wishing I’d taken a photo after Gavin opened all his presents!)

Leave a Reply

