Project: Coffee::Day 1

Desiring to make the first cup of coffee on new year’s day something special, I chose to use my mother’s china. I’m much more inclined toward pottery than china, and so was my mother, but she did own a few lovely pieces that I’m sure were wedding gifts. Safely stored in my china cabinet, the five place settings are inadequate for most dinner gatherings so they are rarely used, but as I removed a cup and saucer from the top glass shelf, I was amused to realize that though mother’s dinner plates were few, she had an abundance of cups and saucers. I do remember her delight in a good cup of coffee.

My photography friend JC mentioned in a comment below that she is beginning the Discipleship Journal Reading Plan (pdf), one of the Bible reading plans that Justin Taylor mentions here. Me, too. We’re in good company…

I am going with the Discipleship Journal Plan for one main reason. Few things discourage us more from reading the Bible through in a year than falling behind. This plan gives five catch up days every month. This is absolutely golden! I just printed it out at 9 AM New Year’s Day. ~ John Piper

I’m really happy to begin using my new ESV Study Bible. Today I enjoyed reading the selections for Day 1 while listening to the passages here. The reader is slow and deliberate, with just the right inflections.

Today is also the first day of Beth Moore’s scripture memorization challenge and after much contemplation, I’ve chosen 1 Peter 1:13 to memorize first. It is linked in my sidebar under “Taking every thought captive” (…and hiding it in my heart).

Therefore, preparing your minds for action, and being sober-minded, set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

It’s a gorgeous day here on Pollywog Creek. After I quick-start the black-eyed peas, I think I’ll bask in God’s goodness and get comfy on the swing outside for a little nap before preparing the rest of our traditional new year’s day feast.

What about you? Do you have a plan to “prepare your mind for action” or memorize scripture this year?

Do you cook (or eat) a special meal for new year’s day, too?

UPDATE: January 1, 2010:: 2009 Memory Verses
January 1

January 15

February 1

February 15

March 1

March 15

April 1

April 15

May 1

May 15

June 1

June 15

July 1

July 15

August 1

August 15

September 1

September 15

October 1

October 15

November 1

November 15

December 1

December 15

Leave a Reply

