Impossible…

…to choose just one, or two or three, even. Truly impossible.

I had the most amazing start to my day this morning. I was all set to write a quick post (I only had time for quick) with boring photographs of the inside of my house (I spent the better part of Monday and Tuesday inside comforting our sweet and very sick Gavin) when I happened to glance out the window and catch a glimpse of this…

Neither words nor photographs (though I took over 100 photographs this morning trying) can adequately describe or capture such beauty. I wish every one of you had been with me at sunrise this morning at the edge of the pond here on Pollywog Creek – praising God for the indescribable and abundant ways He chooses to bless us – like with streams of sunlight that pierce through the hammock of pine and scrub oak and illuminates the flowering heads of the tall grasses, and with the morning sun that blazes through the tree tops and reflects off the steamy pond.

I have over 50 of those photographs in a flickr set slideshow, if anyone would care to spend a minute or two pretending you were with me this morning. If you take a look, I’d love to know which one or two of those photographs you would choose to post.

PSALM 103 (ESV)
Bless the Lord, O My Soul
Of David.

1 Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and all that is within me,
bless his holy name!
2 Bless the Lord, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits,

3 who forgives all your iniquity,
who heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit,
who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
5 who satisfies you with good
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

6 The Lord works righteousness
and justice for all who are oppressed.
7 He made known his ways to Moses,
his acts to the people of Israel.
8 The Lord is merciful and gracious,
slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
9 He will not always chide,
nor will he keep his anger forever.
10 He does not deal with us according to our sins,
nor repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far does he remove our transgressions from us.
13 As a father shows compassion to his children,
so the Lord shows compassion to those who fear him.
14 For he knows our frame;
he remembers that we are dust.

15 As for man, his days are like grass;
he flourishes like a flower of the field;
16 for the wind passes over it, and it is gone,
and its place knows it no more.
17 But the steadfast love of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him,
and his righteousness to children’s children,
18 to those who keep his covenant
and remember to do his commandments.
19 The Lord has established his throne in the heavens,
and his kingdom rules over all.

20 Bless the Lord, O you his angels,
you mighty ones who do his word,
obeying the voice of his word!
21 Bless the Lord, all his hosts,
his ministers, who do his will!
22 Bless the Lord, all his works,
in all places of his dominion.
Bless the Lord, O my soul!
(emphasis mine)

Forget not His benefits, indeed.

On Sunday, our pastor preached on Psalm 103. That afternoon as I meditated on his message and in forgetting not His benefits, I added numerous leaves to our Thanksgiving wall of gratitude – with words like “forgiveness” and “redemption”.

The next four days are packed with much goodness. Louis, Emily and I will be gathering in gratitude with my brother and his family, MJ and his family and Casey tomorrow. Jessi and Mason will join us on Friday, as well as Kristin and Gavin. Nick is at sea and will not be able to celebrate Thanksgiving with us, but he will be home for Gavin’s birthday and Christmas – and that is even better. Friday, we will buy our Christmas tree and decorate it that night or Saturday.

With so much goodness to prepare for and savor, I’d need to share my gratitude for you – my readers – while I’ve a few moments to do so. You know who you are. You encourage me with your comments and emails…and bless me with gifts and awards that I usually fail to acknowledge because I quite simply forget.

It is my prayer for each of you that your Thanksgiving will be abundant in blessings and especially in gratitude – forgetting not His benefits.

Leave a Reply

