Wounds and scars…

My little punkin Gavin is with me today, and all things considered, his wound doesn’t look bad at all. The stitches come out on Sunday and when his daddy returns from sea on Monday, Gavin will have only a scar along his eyebrow for a daddy “show and tell.”

Nick will have missed all the drama, and Kristin has wondered if she can go through this again, should the situation present itself and Nick once again be at sea.

“God’s grace means that I can rest assured that I’ll have everything I need to be what he wants me to be and to do what he wants me to do in the situation in which he’s placed me…”

I was a teenager in high school when I survived an attack by an unknown assailant. While my boyfriend was being beaten with a crowbar, I escaped on a broken leg that separated and splintered as I fled my attacker. After I recovered from surgery, I was left with paralyzing fear and shame that controlled my every decision and motivated me to make the worst relationship decisions of my life – ultimately leading me into an abusive and violent relationship from which I narrowly escaped.

“I’m no longer restricted to the limits of my own strength and wisdom. By his grace, I’ve a new identity and a new potential. I’m a child of God; the risen Christ now lives inside of me. I need no longer fear people or circumstances; I don’t have to feel weak in the face of suffering or temptation, because I no longer rest in the resources of my own ability. I’m in Christ and he’s in me…”

Last evening I shared pieces of this story of my wounded past so many years ago. My heart raced at the remembrance of the fear and shame and the futile resting “in the resources of my own ability”, but I remembered, as well, that I have been made new in Christ. My fears gave way to faith, and my scars remain to testify of the manna that is God’s grace – to be able to face the future without fear – in His strength, not mine.

“This new identity gives me new potential as I face the realities of life in this bent and broken world. God’s grace gives me reason to ‘take heart.’” —Paul David Tripp, “Psalm 27: Take Heart (HT – Of First Importance )

Take heart, dear Kristin. Gavin’s little scar can be a reminder to you that God’s grace is more than enough for whatever circumstances come your way – with or without Nick.

Leave a Reply

