Project: Through the Window :: Day 7…

Rain soaked and weather beaten – my swing under the sweetgum trees stands nearly unused in this miserable rainy season, and I long for cooler, drier weather as I gaze through my bedroom window.

I’ve been nostalgic for different times since Sunday morning when a grandmother holding her two year old grandson settled into a seat just in front of me. I watched her gently lean into his face, grin and with a twinkle in her eyes nuzzle his nose with hers. His arms around her, the little boy rested his chin on her shoulder, smiled at Emily sitting next to me, and buried his face in his grandmother’s neck. It was precious.

I fought against tears that threatened to spill over, as my heart filled to bursting with a longing to nuzzle my own two year old grandson’s nose and feel his soft arms around my neck.

I miss him so – his daddy and mommy, too. And now I long for Texas.

Leave a Reply

