"…those who cannot speak for themselves…"

Mason Thomas Jackson Hunter
16 Weeks Post – Conception, January 2006

For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.
Psalm 139:13-16 (ESV)

Several months ago, I made the decision to refrain from blogging political commentary this election year.

For one thing, there is an abundance of very knowledgeable political pundits who are considerably more articulate and persuasive than I am. I’d rather occasionally point readers in their direction than waste my time stating what others have done with much more eloquence.

There is, however, an issue that I cannot ignore – an issue that compels me to speak up – for those in the womb who are unable to speak for themselves.

Justin Taylor (Between Two Worlds) says that “Every evangelical should watch the first 10 minutes or so of this speech by Barack Obama…”


Barak Obama’s speech to Planned Parenthood in July 2007
(HT – Justin Taylor)
Steve (oldredhat.com) makes the following statement in his recent post “It really matters..”

“I fail to grasp how Christians can say they love Jesus Christ, the Author of Life, yet vote for a candidate that so strongly supports the killing of innocent children. This issue really matters. In the name of Jesus Christ, may there not be blood on the hands of his followers.”

My sentiments exactly!

Mason Thomas Jackson Hunter
7 months old – January 2007

Leave a Reply

