Back at the creek…

I walked around Pollywog Creek this morning for the first time in over three weeks.

Part of me wanted to stay inside – in the comfort of air-conditioning and my cozy lounge chair, but my desire for fresh air and sunshine and a sense of normalacy was greater.

Very little about the past three weeks happened as I had anticipated.

Though my determination to reach Texas never faltered, challenges along the way severely tested my endurance.

I limped back onto Pollywog Creek with prescription strength motrin to ease my prescription strength pain, cough and cold meds and a box of kleenex. I stayed in my pajamas for two days and became a year older in the process.

Those two days of rest were exactly what I needed. While we were driving home from Texas, Mason and his other grandparents were packing to fly to Florida for a week, and Mason was able to stay with us all day yesterday.

Aren’t they adorable?

There were moments of conflict, as would be expected of two not-quite-two-year-olds wanting the same toy or book or lap at the same time, but there were more moments of laughter and hugs and kisses. The day could only have been more perfect if Casey and Jessi had been here with Mason, too.

Leave a Reply

