Saturday Photo Hunt – New Orleans Color…and Hack Bartholomew…

The theme for this week’s photo hunt is “share any photo” and because I happen to be in New Orleans at the moment, I chose to share a small collage of “color” photos I took on Friday afternoon in the French Quarter.

New Orleans is not on my list of favorite cities to visit. A walk down the old, cobbled streets of the French Quarters exposed me to a variety of unfamiliar – and often unappreciated – sights, sounds and aromas. This was not my first trip to New Orleans. It isn’t as though I was totally naive to what I would encounter here, but as we spent the day in the city, I was simply reminded that this is not one of my favorite places.

Yet, it is cities much like New Orleans that inspired Bluetree to write and Chris Tomlin to record “God of the City”, and meeting Hack Bartholomew outside Café Du Monde has clearly been the highlight of our Road to Texas trip thus far. This is how Emily described that meeting in her blog:

This morning we left the hotel around 8:30 and our first stop was Cafe Du Monde for some beignets. Before we went in to eat, I saw a certain someone outside playing the trumpet that I just had to go talk to.

Introduction: new orleans, house of blues

So I went up to him and because I couldn’t remember his name I said “Did you play at the House of Blues with Chris Tomlin?” and he said that he did. When I told him I had seen the video on myspace he said “It’s on myspace?!” “And people watch it?!” It was hilarious. We talked with him for about 20 minutes and I took a picture with him. He’s such a nice man and has a huge heart for New Orleans and the people there and especially for God.

For photos from other Photo Hunt participants, please click on the Photo Hunter Banner or the Technorati PhotoHunt tag below. The theme for next week’s Photo Hunt is: candy.

Leave a Reply

