I am going to Texas…

Not one to wish my life away, I’m still very happy that this past week is behind me.

I truly did not anticipate the level of post operative pain I experienced. I’ve always thought I had a high tolerance for pain. I once ran on a broken leg, though adrenalin might have contributed to that experience. I also drove myself to the emergency room with a perforated colon, a situation that resulted in emergency surgery to remove half my colon hours later. I thought, how bad can laparoscopic surgery be?

Friday was the first day I wore anything other than pajamas. My friend Joyce drove me into town for a meeting and I was encouraged that I could actually wear a pair of jeans with only minimal discomfort.

Saturday morning was fantastic – I could even stand up straight and fold laundry – and I convinced Louis that I could probably go to church on Sunday. Unfortunately, it all went downhill from there.

Apparently the dehydration I experienced earlier in the week was a perfect set-up for a horrible urinary tract infection that kept me awake Saturday night in pain. Yesterday was a fog. My friend Joyce described it perfectly as a sort of jet lag without going anywhere.

Today, praise God, is a new day, and twenty-four hours of antibiotics has put me back on the recovery fast track that will sooner-than-later get me to Texas. Lord willing – I.am.going.to.Texas.

I have an eventful two days ahead of me. Emily and I are working together to finish a few important chores that simply should not wait for our return from Texas. Later this afternoon, one of my favorite people in the whole world is coming for a visit. Tiffany has just completed over a year of her internship in cross-cultural studies in SE Asia and is home for a brief few days before returning to college. I can hardly wait to hear what God has been doing in her life.

My favorite “servants” are at work in the kitchen. A pork roast is roasting in the crock-pot and a loaf of bread is being kneaded and baked by my Breadman. I’ll bake macaroni and cheese and a vegetable later. Nick, Kristin and Gavin are coming for dinner and it will be wonderful to see all of them. (Can you believe that it has been over a week since I have seen Gavin?) Nick will be holding down the Pollywog Creek fort while we are in Texas. (By the way – I.am.going.to.Texas.) His return from the “high seas” today is perfect timing.

I’ve been having fun assembling the May flower collages for my challenge. It has been good for me to discover a way I could use some of the hundreds (if not thousands) of flower photographs in my archives and to motivate me to research and identify some of the more unusual ones – a task that is proving to be a challenge in itself.

I suppose I should return to my duties. I.am.going.to.Texas and I need to get ready.

Leave a Reply

