An April Sabbath…

…on Pollywog Creek

I meant to begin reading John Piper’s A Godward Life shortly after Easter, but Emily and I began Beth Moore’s Stepping Up – the Psalms of Ascent and I actually forgot that I had purchased A Godward Life.

Last night I suddenly remembered and after finding Piper’s book in a basket in the study, I tucked it in my tote bag with my Bible, notebook and pens to take with me to church.

On the long drive from Pollywog Creek to worship this morning, I read through the introduction, which Piper concluded with these words and verse….

This is the final testimony of a Godward life:

Whom have I in heaven but thee?
And there is nothing upon earth that I desire besides thee.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever.
(Psalm 73:25-26, RSV)

I smiled. I think I may have even chuckled. There’s a reason that I forgot that I had this book until this weekend.

My daughter calls this “the wave” – when the same scripture or worship song or idea keeps jumping out at you from different people and places.

I get it.

Leave a Reply

