Saturday Photo Hunt – Thirteen (13)

It just so happens that there are thirteen (13) letters in “Pollywog Creek”, so I decided that it would be fun to find a photograph for each letter. I had no idea how big a project this would be for me (I had a very difficult time choosing just one photo for each letter). I do hope that my readers and Photo Hunt friends will enjoy this broad look at life on Pollywog Creek.

“P” stands for POLLYWOGS, of course!

The number one internet search that lands people on my corner of cyberspace is “What do pollywogs eat?”

“O” stands for OWL

I’ve only seen a Great Horned Owl twice in the nearly twenty years that we have lived on Pollywog Creek.

“L” stands for LEAF

There are many lovely leaves growing on vines and bushes on Pollywog Creek, but the beautiful heart-shaped wild potato vine leaves are some of my favorites.

“L” stands for LIZARD

Of all the critters on Pollywog Creek, the lizards must be the most abundant – much to the delight of my cats who find much pleasure in capturing and “playing” with them.

“Y” is for YELLOW JACKET

This yellowjacket is eating an insect larvae. The yellowjacket ties with snakes as my least favorite Pollywog Creek critter.

“W” is for WOOD STORK

The Wood Stork is North America’s only native stork. It enjoys feasting on the tadpoles, frogs and lizards that are so abundant in and around our Pollywog Creek pond.

“O” is for OXEYE – CREEPING OXEYE

Native to the West Indies, the creeping oxeye is a common ground cover found in south and central Florida. On our property, it grows in the thickets along the creek.

“G” is for GRASSHOPPER

Unfortunately, the grasshoppers love my zinnias as much as I do.

“C” is for CAESAR’S WEED

Caesar’s weed is a common weed in south and central Florida. It grows along the creek bank and on our neighbor’s property near the fence.

“R” is for RUSTY LYONIA

I think the delicate white bell-shaped flowers on this tall bush that grows in the thickets along the creek are quite lovely, even with their spots of “rust”.

“E” is for EMILIA FOSBERGII – TASSEL FLOWER

I searched much too long for an egret photograph to post in this “E” spot, when I discovered that the scientific name for the tassel flower begins with an “e” and my search was over. I’ve written about this photograph many times. It is the photograph that originally inspired me to continue photography. I had no idea that the common tassel flower weed could be so beautiful.

“E” is for EGGS – MOCKINGBIRD EGGS

Sadly, just a few days after all four mockingbird eggs appeared in the nest last spring, they disappeared unhatched.

“K” is for KNEES – CYPRESS KNEES

Six cypress trees grow along the edge of our pond and the pond is nearly surrounded by these woody projections from the tree roots, making a walk around the pond a bit treacherous.

For “thirteen” photos from other Photo Hunt participants, please click on the Photo Hunter Banner or the Technorati PhotoHunt tag below. The theme for next week’s Photo Hunt is: unique/funny signs.

Leave a Reply

