Morning Light

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.
1 John 1:7

There is something about the morning light that totally captivates me. As the earth spins and rotates through the universe, every morning – minute by minute – the rays of light penetrate the atmosphere, darting through the tall pine and oak trees in slightly different places, and I am in awe. Just one glance toward the rising sun as it begins to peek over the horizon is all it takes to draw me away.

So many times I have tried to capture the beauty and majesty of those fleeting moments with my camera, but I’ve barely scratched the surface. Every morning, every minute, the rays illuminate differently. My gaze rarely lingers on those objects of illumination, but on light’s characteristics, in the sparkles of dust and water molecules in the air, and the contrast between where light shines and where it does not – between the bright and the dull.

How like the Lord the morning light seems to me – so irresistable and beckoning, beautiful, majestic, faithful, and yet, mysterious. Just one glance is all it takes to draw me away.

How can I ever begin to name what I am grateful for this day: The sun, the Son, the light, the Light…..

Leave a Reply

