A Simca, a torn hamstring, a concert pianist, a fear of heights, a folk concert, a disdain, a baseball team, and spelling.

One of the most delightful things about entering the blogosphere has been meeting so many interesting people from all over the world, like Lynn (Everything and then Some) and Julie (Teacher Julie) , two lovely ladies who are some of my new Saturday Photo Hunt friends. This past week, both Lynn and Julie tagged me to participate in “Eight Random Facts”, because they think they want to know more about me.

It has taken me this long to think of 8 random facts about me that others may not have learned from reading Pollywog Creek.

1. My first car was a Simca (looked something like this, only white). I was recovering from a very traumatic experience and my parents wanted to encourage me by helping me buy a car. They paid $50 down and I picked up the monthly payments after that. It was not an expensive car. It had manual transmission and I learned to drive it with a cast on my left leg.

2. I became an avid runner in my late 20’s and early 30’s. I never really enjoyed running, but I loved how great I felt afterwards. Very early in the morning, I ran 5 miles a day, 4-5 days a week, through the deserted streets of the rural town where we lived. One morning, I pulled a hamstring while running and while I was recovering, my doctor told me that because of my moderately severe scoliosis (another random fact), running was one of the worst things I could do to prevent further spinal curvature. I never ran again – except after small children!

3. When I was a little girl I wanted to grow up to be a concert pianist. The first obstacle toward reaching that goal was that I didn’t have a piano. When I was about 12 or 13 my parents surprised me with a piano for Christmas, but it annoyed my parents for me to practice. I wasn’t very good at it. Obviously I never became a concert pianist.

4. I’m just a wee bit afraid of heights. I have never had a panic attack, but when I drove over the Sunshine Skyway Bridge a few months ago, I think I came very close to doing so. I didn’t really have problems being at the top of the Empire State Building, though. Not exactly the top, but as high as visitors are allowed to go. The first time we took the elevator trip to the top, a young man, a total stranger, asked Louis if he would videotape him proposing to his girlfriend while they were up there. Wasn’t that sweet? Here is a photograph of Emily calling one of her friends back home while we were on our last trip to the Empire State Building two years ago. Emily asked her friend, “Guess where I am?” to which her friend answered, “The Eiffel Tower?”

5. Many years ago, I attended a Bob Dylan/Joan Baez concert. I’m not the same person I was those many years ago. Enough said about that!

6. I hate to carry a purse. I keep a large purse in my car filled with items that I think I might need away from home (nothing valuable), but when I get out of the car, I only take my cell phone, money and credit cards with me, so I don’t have to carry a purse.

7. A result of being married to Louis for 33 years is that I have become a huge New York Yankees Baseball fan. HUGE. I’m following their game tonight against the Toronto Blue Jays at MLB.com even as I type this. (The Yankees just won, by the way!) Louis, Emily and I have splurged and bought tickets to attend three NYY baseball games here in Florida and the Yankees have lost every time.

8. I am a horrible speller. Horrible. It isn’t just the big words that throw me, it is most often the little ones, like “their” – or is it “thier”? See what I mean? I can spell it both ways in the same bit of writing, look up the spelling in a dictionary, and still not remember which way it should be spelled the next time I write it. I can remember several years ago not being able to remember how to spell the word “who”. My son Nick has the same problem. Both of us think that while U.S. President Theodore Roosevelt was a bit over zealous in his attempts to reform spelling rules to make English spelling more phonetic, we think he was probably a “horrible speller” and a kindred spirit. Poor TR didn’t have spell-check. Nick and I could not be happier with our good fortune.

The rules of this tag are:

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.

2. List eight (8) random facts about yourself.

3. Tag eight people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).

4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving them a comment on their blogs.

I am truly terrible at this. I don’t have a clue who the eight people are that I should tag, so I’m going to invite any Pollywog Creek readers who would like to participate, to please do so….and let me know in a comment with a link to your blog.

Leave a Reply

