A Sabbath Eve

Last Saturday night I read with envy “A Sabbath-Eve Gospel Prayer” by Tullian Tchividjian, who has been guest-blogging this week for Justin Taylor at Between Two Worlds.

Envy, because I rightly suspected that this tenacious respiratory virus I have been fighting for a month now would prevent me from attending worship yet again. Horrible coughing spasms was making it impossible for me to go anywhere.

Tonight, I read Tchividjian’s prayer again, but this time with joy and excitement because I just know that I will be well enough to attend worship in the morning.

I promised myself that I would not overdue it today so that I could avoid a set-back in my health. I promised that I would rest frequently and stay inside in the air-conditioning and avoid the energy-draining heat and humidity so typical of August in south Florida.

I got off to a very slow start, exhausted before breakfast, but miraculously I have more energy at the end of this day than I have had in weeks. I am very encouraged.

The house is clean – enough, that is. All the laundry is washed, folded and put away. Fresh flowers – the last of this batch of zinnias, I’m afraid – are in a clean vase over the kitchen sink, and a chicken salad for lunch is ready in the fridge.

My going-to-church bag is filled with all the items I deem necessary for any excursion away from home: Bible (of course), sermon notebook (I always take notes), extra notebook – should I experience one of those sudden inspirational moments I simply must write about, my paper journal, an assortment of colored pens and pencils, tissue, cough drops, a bottle of water and a pack of gum.

I think I’ll take my camera with me tomorrow, too. It is way too hot to be wandering outdoors right now, so maybe I’ll just have “A Pollywog Creek Sabbath Drive Home from Worship” photo post tomorrow instead.

Leave a Reply

