Alive to beauty

“He helped me become alive to life. He helped me see what is there in the world – things that, if we didn’t have, we would pay a million dollars to have, but having them, ignore. He made me more alive to beauty. He put my world on notice that there are daily wonders that will waken worship if I open my eyes.”

John Piper, Don’t Waste Your Life, p. 20, speaking of the influence of C. S. Lewis.

That quote from John Piper reminds me of the elderly lady that I often visited in a nursing home a couple of years ago who told me that two of the things that she missed the most about no longer living in her own home were coffee in the morning with her neighbor and watching her laundry dry on the clothes line outside. I believe that she would pay a million dollars, if she had it, to have those experiences back again.

So I ask myself,

“What beauty, what pleasures, delights and daily wonders are worth a million bucks, but I am ignoring this day?”

Leave a Reply

